Thoughts while waiting for students.

Sophomore consultant Dara Ricketts composed the following poem reflecting on her first hours as a writing consultant.

Hunger

By Dara Ricketts

 

My first day at work

Filled with many emotions

Alone and hungry

 

My only session

But how could she blow me off

Come back Amanda

 

Hope is a walk-in

She will make an appointment

Only one day more

 

Silence fills the room

Only my growling stomach

As my company

 

My roommate is here

She helps heal all of my pain

But not the hunger

 

New fish in the pond

The Fishbowl is my home now

It needs a snack bar

Leave a Reply

